VW Golf R32 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Semi-Advanced Member
4,197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have a virgin router and broadband the other day it stopped working... You can connect to the router but not to the Internet. Our desktop will connect to the Internet when the router is in modem mode but as soon as you change it to wireless mode the connection is lost. Our desktop is connected to the router with an Ethernet cable... Any ideas? Virgin are usless

·
4,420 Posts
Im a BT engineer, and to be honest it sounds like a dodgy router, i get similar things all day long, if it wasn't working at all then id say its something outside, but if it definitely works in modem mode then the router is shagged, ring virgin up and get them to send you a new one
im not familiar with virgin stuff but i assume its similar

·
Registered
102 Posts
have you tried logging onto the router and resetting it factory defaults? - looks like a backwards piece of kit tbh.. not sure why they have made it so you have to be in two separate modes to use wireless and wired connections.. mehr, thats virgin for ya .... still poo poos all over BT and sky though

·
4,420 Posts
have you tried logging onto the router and resetting it factory defaults? - looks like a backwards piece of kit tbh.. not sure why they have made it so you have to be in two separate modes to use wireless and wired connections.. mehr, thats virgin for ya .... still poo poos all over BT and sky though
BT are limited by the government lol, if they wanted to they could poo all over virgin, but they have to be fair to other companies like talk talk, sky, ee and plus net, as they use BT's network but put their name on it, its also the reason bt charge more than other companies, because they have to, to meet trading standards, pretty shit really, bt are currently installing 330mb fibre, cant wait

·
Semi-Advanced Member
4,197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It's effin irritating to be honest.