VW Golf R32 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking at getting some coilovers for my MK5

I am new to modifying these cars and have a few questions... (a lot have been answered already by searching on here but I have a few more)

I've been recommended the BC racing coilovers (BR series) from a member on here. I am after performance coilovers, I want to reduce the body roll in corners and generally improve the handling. The car sitting a bit lower will be nice but this is not the sole purpose of buying them.

So...

1) Do others recommend these, look to be about £700.. are there others that I should be considering/comparing around this price bracket?
2) As I said I don't wish to slam the car to the floor so what height should I be lowering to for best results performance wise and to ensure I have no issues with being too low? I don't want any issues with rubbing, having to avoid speed bumps etc....!!
3) Do I need to modify/replace any other OEM suspension parts when fitting aftermarket coilivers to benefit them further? Or is this not essential.

Thanks in advance

James

·
Registered
1,310 Posts
Having already had BC Racing Coilovers I would suggest changing the ARB's to H&R's first of all. This will reduce the body roll and not bugger up the ride comfort at all. If you're after performance handling you don't want to drop it too much either. Mine's currently on VWR Springs with OEM Dampers along with the H&R ARB's and I think it handles better than when it was on the BC's. Comfort is better as they're more forgiving than the BC's on my local crappy roads. The BC's are good coilovers but sadly weren't liveable for me on a daily basis.

I'd also consider throwing something like Bilstein B8 Dampers with H&R or VWR Springs into the mix.

·
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·