VW Golf R32 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering whether the majority of people drive with it on or off? I have mine on because i'm fairly new to the car, is it much different with it off?

·
Premium Member
4,542 Posts
Its a completely different animal when its off, plus you get an extra 4bhp woohoo !!

I drive with it on unless its dry and i'm having a proper spirited drive. I find if i leave it on it takes too much power away .

·
3,732 Posts
i agree with the above, if your new to the car keep the esp on during the wet... IF the sun ever somes out again and the tarmac gets sticky switch it off and drive it like your supposed too :D

·
79 Posts
4 BHP I didnt know that!!!!!Only had the car from new 3 and a bit years ago....and still learning things. Thats whats so good about this site:151:

·
324 Posts
I drive with it off as much as I can remember to turn it off. It kills power at the most annoying times, especially on tight turns. The car is so grippy, even in the wet it doesnt need it. I wish it was 'off' as default and you could turn it 'on' if you needed it. In fact, the more i think about it, the more i hate it.

·
243 Posts
I drive with it on, only because I never remember/can't be bothered to turn it off!

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
i drive with it on only kicks in if im to aggressive on a launch out of junction or something, but 4bhp is tempting

·
Registered
32 Posts
When I had my little trip to Prodrive a few weeks back they said 'leave it on'.

Why take your cars design and technology back 20years.

·
Premium Member
4,542 Posts
maybe for normal driving plodd yeah,

But if your giving it plenty around a corner and it starts to lose grip the traction control is so aggessive when it kicks in that you lose power for too long.