VW Golf R32 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks,

I'm new to the scene having just bought a lovely MkIV R32 a few weeks ago. I found out it's always worth joining an owners club after I owned a Renault 21 Turbo and found their club brilliant help. (I've learnt since that a 15yr old performance car is expensive to run and not that reliable. Still good fun though and before you say, I know they look like a house brick).

Anywho, enough rambling. My new car is:

MkIV Golf R32 in Silver
45k on the clock
Full Miltec exhaust system
Forced Induction kit
Half leather interior
All the R32 gubbins etc....

(Pictures to come once uploaded)

I'm so pleased I bought one, can't stop smiling every time I look at it or drive it. Averaging about 22mpg currently but I put that down to a lot of town driving (had to show it off to mates etc ;)) and also an 'elephant man's' right foot. Looks wise I prefer it to the MkV, purely because it looks more original, but I wouldn't say no to a Mk5! Both are fantastic machines.

Before getting my R32, I test drove the Ford Focus RS, Civic Type R and have been in a mates Leon Cupra R, MkIV 1.8T Anniversary & a BMW 330ci. I've read the debates on here involving other cars such as Scooby's etc, but at the end of the day they must all be good cars to be used in a comparison with an R32.

Was only truly impressed with the R32 due to everything it can do plus I just bloody love VW. The RS simply cannot steer under pressure with all those horses running through 2 wheels, the BMW drove great but to me it's just another fleet car, a step up on the ladder for the business men with Mondeos. Type R was too exhausting, I need a car that doesn't involve holding it in gear too long to get the best from it. If I can pull away at 40mph in 6th gear in the R32.... :D