VW Golf R32 Forum banner
1 - 8 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
morning all , i'm new to the forum so sorry if this is in wrong section,

i'm currently looking for a low mileage MK5 R32 , and i've found one that fits the bill at garage .

only problem , or not ,is it's a jap import , and i have no knowledge on pit falls regarding buying an imported car, like can i confirm history , and things like that ,

any help would be greatly appreciated ,

·
330 Posts
Hi, firstly, welcome. About jap imports, like all 2nd hand cars, a lot can depend on the dealer you by from. Some are great at changing everything like the jap radio or getting a translation of service history, others are not. It's unlikely you will ever be able to totally verify the mileage, but that is not an issue solely to imports.
Like all cars, I would buy on condition reflecting the mileage, do the seats, pedals and wheel, look as worn as the mileage shows?
The other thing to bear in mind with imports, is that rightly or wrongly they are/should be cheaper than the equivalent UK car. A lot of the market is leery of them for whatever reason, which is why they are cheaper. Good luck in your search, ask away on any further questions, most on here are a helpful bunch!

·
Registered
Mk5 Golf R32 , black 3 door 2006
805 Posts
Hi, firstly, welcome. About jap imports, like all 2nd hand cars, a lot can depend on the dealer you by from. Some are great at changing everything like the jap radio or getting a translation of service history, others are not. It's unlikely you will ever be able to totally verify the mileage, but that is not an issue solely to imports.
Like all cars, I would buy on condition reflecting the mileage, do the seats, pedals and wheel, look as worn as the mileage shows?