VW Golf R32 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum.

I just bought a Mk5 R32 just under a month ago. I noticed on purchase some rust on the front wheel arch. Later discovered rust on the rear wheel arch and then rust on both inner front door seals.

Is it normal for these cars to rust here? I owned a 1.6 FSI prior to this car and it had no rust on it at all.

ChipsAway has quoted me £1188 to fix these issues. Is this reasonable?

Furthermore, is there a way to prevent this from happening again? Zinc coating, ACF50 or underseal?

I have attached some pictures too.

Cheeres
Hood Automotive tire Blue Azure Car

Automotive lighting Hood Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive mirror

Vertebrate Sky Blue Azure Automotive lighting

Cloud Atmosphere Hood Automotive tire Automotive lighting

·
Registered
1,074 Posts
take the front wheels off, remove the wheel liner and see if the noise deadening foam is still there. that's the cause of the front rust.

the rear rust is prob years of crap behind the arch. the door sill I wouldn't be to bothered about.

I wldnt use chips away, need a decent body shop to do the work

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
take the front wheels off, remove the wheel liner and see if the noise deadening foam is still there. that's the cause of the front rust.

the rear rust is prob years of crap behind the arch. the door sill I wouldn't be to bothered about.

Thank you very much kingswood. It is the same for the rear in terms of sound deadening?