VW Golf R32 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
1,534 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im looking to paint the front bumpers on my van but there in plastic and I was wondering instead of sanding them all back to get rid of the nobbley bumps on them is there a self leveling primer or one that will eat into the plastic so that the paint when gets chipped or something wont flake off when you see all these cheap ones that are sprayed up, I have 2k paint ready to paint on with a compressor

·
1,534 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ive got a spray gun never used one before but gonna give it ago just want to practice on a crappy van bumper first see how it goes, rattle cans will take a lot and cost more in the run of it all I think

·
2,303 Posts
It will be mate, I'm actually a automotive painter

Right before you start you will need to scotch down the bumper with red scotchbrite and then clean it down with panel wipe if you have it (I'd recommend it anyway as it removes tar spots really well so you'll have a use for it) once it's done I'd sweep the floor and put water down (mainly for when you get to the paint and clear but it's good practice to do it all the time), I'm guessing you'll be spraying in your garage so best to have a space heater if possible and you'll need a decent compressor

Once the bumper is wiped down and is secure on a stand its best to use a tack rag to remove any dust, again good practice and these things cut the amount of prep work and polishing needed to be done

Make sure your gun is cleaned properly then add some 1k plastic primer

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/321174856531?lpid=83&device=m&adtype=pla&crdt=0&ff3=1&ff11=ICEP3.0.0&ff12=67&ff13=
&ff14=83