VW Golf R32 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
402 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Came back from the shops today to find a good 10" scrtach x2 on the bonnet and near side front wing - very upset and feel absolutely gutted!!

Had a quote to get the bonnet etc resprayed at it is particularly filthy......what I need to know is that I can not afford to get this done for a couple of weeks and so what can I do in the meantime to minimise any further damage (it is garaged 90% of the time).

i.e shall I T-cut it to start with? Sorry I am a bit of a layman and have never had this happen to me before.

Any advice appreciated.

R32Dub

·
Premium Member
7,998 Posts
Hi R32 Dub, Firstly is it deep ie can you get your finger nail into the scratch? If so then you will need to paint it cos it's too deep to polish out I'm afraid. :(
I would try a company like 'Chips A Way' it might be cheaper? I hope you get sorted fella, good luck. :wink::)

·
.:R32OC Site Contributor
5,616 Posts
I'd also recommend getting Chips Away to come and quote. Had one of their guys sort out a massive stone chip in the bumper and I cannot fault the work one but.

·
Registered
46 Posts
If its garaged most of the time i wouldn't worry about it mate if its going in in the next couple of weeks, i'm not a massive fan of t-cut so i tend to steer clear of the stuff.
I would have thought you would be fine it would take alot longer than that for any rust to set in.

·
402 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks. It is quite deep and so will defo need to be painted - great!!

It is in the garage virtually the whole time and hopefully should not get rained on before I can get it painted...

And there was me thinking (and saying) that the car get so much positive attention!!! I guess it is ubnfortunately part of the territory...

·
Admin
9,271 Posts