VW Golf R32 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
In the process of buying my first R, I've been looking at getting a (newish) mk5. Test drove a mk5 last week , a manual version at VW Warrington and it was sweet, i couldn't fault the drive or the looks (forgetting the fuel bills).

However, I've just been chatting to a mate who unlike me has had a go in a mk4 and a mk5 and is trying to persuade me to get a mk4 instead...?
He said that the mk4 sounded better, was more chukkable round the corners and would feel similar to my mk2 16v, that ive been abusing for the past 4 years?

So... can anyone give me some advice or should i just test drive a mk4?
I think i prefer the mk5, so feel free to argue the toss and make me think otherwise!! DECISIONS DECISIONS...

·
Admin
9,271 Posts
The best thing is to test drive one your self I would think.I have a MKIV but I have never driven a MKV so don't know if there is much difference.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I think I'm gonna have to...just wondered if anyone has driven both and has a preference? I've never had a decent car so thought i would treat myself!
I don't mind paying extra for a nice mk5 but if the mk4 is the better overall, i don't mind just having a 4. Cheers Paulie

·
465 Posts
Hello, same as above mate, i have no doubt the mkv will just be as quality as the mkIV. IMO i prefer the IV but i am biased as i have one and i would get put on death row if i even mentioned test driving a V lol:shot:

·
Premium Member
4,542 Posts
i think in fairness the Mk5 is as cornerable if not better as the chassis was improved.

Soundwise for me the mk4 is better as the mk5 is quite discreet, but nothing a Miltek couldnt solve.

Brakes are way better on the Mk5, a little soft on the Mk4 altho they do stop well.

Mk4 has definate more 'hardcore' feel to it when driving, the Mk5 feels softer and more refined. Mk4 suspension is way harder.