Mk4 R32 2004 Rear Diff issues - General Chat - R32OC | VW Golf R32, Golf R and other .:R Vehicle Owners Club.

Photo
- - - - -

Mk4 R32 2004 Rear Diff issues

Vehicle Mk4 Haldex Rear Diff

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

R32Munchies

R32Munchies

• Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • LocationBath, England
Hey guys, I'm new to owning an R32 and have been looking around the web for any help to do with this.
On full lock or close to full lock I get a slight grinding noise coming from the rear diff, I took it to VW Bath and they that the car isn't coming out of 4WD and that to fix it I need a new "final drive" part which is just over £2500 + £1000 labour. I work for the ambulance service so clearly do not have that much money to spend after buying this car :/

Was hoping someone would be able to give any advice as to what I could do, also am trying to have a look at it myself with a friend who is a mechanic and we don't have the multispline tools to get at it. Any chance anyone close would be kind enough to let us borrow them for a couple days?

Thanks in advance guys :)
Posted Image

Toffs

Toffs

.:R32OC Parking Attendant

• .:R32OC Contributor
  • 4023 posts
Hello,

I'm not a million miles away from ya, but I'm not quite sure what 'multi splined' tools you mean? What exactly are you trying to undo.

Driving a R at 19 is unusual, fair play :)

Toffs
  • R32Munchies likes this
 0-60: 3.7sec                                            BHP: 450-500                        Torque: 700+ Nm                              Fun: Incalculable
gallery_2294_1980_2835.jpg gallery_2294_1980_8853.png gallery_2294_1980_12960.jpg gallery_2294_1980_20971.jpg

Lucifer

Lucifer

Eats Kitty Litter

• Members
  • 7276 posts
  • LocationCullompton Devon